AI Powered Quantitative Pathology in Clinical and Preclinical Studies

When

25th May 2021

Where

Webinar

SPONSORED BY

The ability to rapidly and consistently analyze large scale images is crucial in digital pathology. Preclinical toxicology, discovery, and efficacy studies are both expensive and require laborious whole slide assessments. In clinical practice, diagnostic pathology also requires highly skilled and sought after specialists. The ability to automate these tasks at a large scale with artificial intelligence (AI) has the potential to reduce overall workload, protect pathologists from burnout, and to be able to generate consistent, highly accurate data across preclinical and clinical pathology to enhance decision making and patient outcomes.

During this webinar you will be introduced to implementing AI for digital pathology using Aiforia’s image analysis software, hearing from presenters from two case studies describing ongoing work for automatic DSS colitis discovery model assessment at Boehringer Ingelheim followed by automatic quantification of histologic features in colorectal carcinoma at the Mayo Clinic. You will also have the chance to find out, with a live demonstration, how you can get started with quick, agile development of AI models and what validation and continuous quality assurance, key for ongoing improvement and safe deployment, looks like with Aiforia’s cloud-based software.

 

Date: 25 May 2021 (Tuesday)
Time: New York 09:00 | London 14:00 | Paris 15:00 | Singapore 21:00 | Tokyo 22:00 | Sydney 23:00
Duration: 90 minutes
Event structure: 65-minute presentation + 25-minute Q&A
Registration fee: Complimentary access
Webinar on-demand: Available to view until midnight 8 June 2021 (registration is required)

Presenter Details

Name: Rish Pai, MD PhD
Title: Consultant Pathologist and Professor of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology
Organisation: Mayo Clinic

Dr. Rish Pai received his B.A. from Pomona College in Claremont, CA and earned his M.D., Ph.D. from Case Western University School of Medicine in Cleveland, OH. He completed his anatomic pathology residency followed by a gastrointestinal and hepatic pathology fellowship at the University of Chicago Medical Center. Dr. Pai is currently Professor of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology at Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and serves as Consultant in the Department of Laboratory Medicine/Pathology, Mayo Clinic, Scottsdale, Arizona. Dr. Pai has lectured nationally and internationally on many aspects of gastrointestinal and hepatic pathology. He is currently President of the Rodger C. Haggitt Gastrointestinal Pathology Society and a regular reviewer for numerous pathology and gastroenterology journals and has published ~100 articles and written multiple book chapters in the fields of gastrointestinal and hepatic pathology.

 

Name: Alex Klimowicz, PhD
Title: Senior Principal Scientist in the Department of Immunology & Respiratory Discovery Research
Organisation: Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc

Alex Klimowicz is a Senior Principal Scientist in the Department of Immunology & Respiratory Discovery Research at Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc. In this capacity he leads the Molecular Histopathology Group, implementing and applying cutting edge in situ techniques, whole slide imaging, and digital image analysis, to build target to disease linkage in human tissue specimens for projects and external collaborations across the Department. Alex holds a PhD in Molecular Biology, and has over 10 years of experience in the fields of digital pathology and quantitative immunohistochemistry. Prior to moving to Boehringer Ingelheim, Alex was an Adjunct Research Assistant Professor in the Department of Oncology at the University of Calgary, where he led a core, quantitative immunohistochemistry lab focused on cancer biomarker research.

 

Name: Thomas Westerling-Bui, PhD
Title: Director of Scientific Strategy
Organisation: Aiforia

Thomas received his PhD in cancer biology, focusing on the cell cycle and transcription, from the University of Helsinki Medical School in Finland. He completed a post-doctoral EMBO fellowship at the Dana Farber Cancer Institute in Boston, researching the genomics of breast and prostate cancer. Tom joined Aiforia to advance the new potential of cancer biology, pathology, big data, and artificial intelligence.

Interested in hosting your own webinar or online panel discussion?

With over a decade of experience in hosting life science events, Global Engage is your ideal partner to either devise an agenda for you or work with you and your speakers to promote the online event to our extensive databases.

Contact us to discuss how we can make a webinar/online panel discussion work for you

For further details please contact
Gavin Hambrook
Telephone +44 (0) 7538 368 764 or
email [email protected]

Reuben Raj
Direct: +603 2117 5193
email [email protected]

Register

The meeting is free to attend
Register today